SIG Awards in Pediatric Pain

Distinguished Career Award recipients

2017  Maria Fitzgerald

2015  Charles Berde

2013  Kenneth Craig

2010  Patrick McGrath

Early Career Award recipients

2017   Laura Simons

2015   Jennifer Stinson

2013   Liesbet Goubert

Young Investigator Award recipients

2010   Suellen Walker

2006   Anna Taddio

2003   Christine Chambers

2000   Bonnie Stevens

1997   Klaus Olkkola

1994   KJS Anand

2017 Distinguished Career Award in Pediatric Pain

Winner: Maria Fitzgerald

Maria Fitzgerald, PhD, FRS, is Professor of Developmental Neurobiology in the Department of Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology, University College London, United Kingdom.

Dr. Fitzgerald is a innovative physiologist and neuroscientist who has significantly increased our understanding of the basic properties of developing nociceptive systems and how that development may be adversely affected by tissue injury.  She went on to apply her laboratory findings to better understand parallel nociceptive pathways in infants and children.  Her academic progeny have likewise gone on to make outstanding contributions to the field.

2017 Early Career Award in Pediatric Pain
(formerly called Young Investigator Award)

Winner: Laura Simons

Laura Simons, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative, and Pain Medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine in Palo Alto, California, USA. 

Dr. Simons is a clinical psychologist whose program of research focuses on pain-related fear. She demonstrated that heightened and generalized avoidance of harm in youth with pain is associated with maladaptive functional outcomes and altered affective and reward related brain circuit connectivity. Dr. Simons' work embodies the biopsychosocial model spanning neural underpinnings of emotion and behavior, assessment scale development to guide treatment targets, and innovative treatment using graded exposure for youth with chronic pain. Since receiving her PhD in 2006, Dr. Simons has published 70 peer reviewed articles and been a recipient of 12 grants as principal or co-investigator, including 4 from the National Institutes of Health.  The innovation in her research, including integrating various key elements of children's pain experience, as well as her outstanding academic productivity, led to her selection for this award.

2019 Early Career Award in Pediatric Pain
(formerly called Young Investigator Award)


Call for Nominations

Application/nomination deadline: 1 November 2018

The Special Interest Group on Pain in Childhood, International Association for the Study of Pain, is pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for an Early Career Award in Pediatric Pain. The prize is awarded at each International Symposium on Pediatric Pain (ISPP).

The 2017 Early Career Award recipient will be notified in December, 2016.

The recipient will be honored at the 12th International Symposium on Pediatric Pain ( in Basel, Switzerland, by presenting a plenary lecture and receiving:

  • Free registration at ISPP 2019, plus
  • A money prize which may be used for travel and accommodation expenses for ISPP.


  • Individuals who have shown outstanding achievements in pediatric pain research since the completion of their PhD or last postgraduate research degree.
  • Individuals who are within ten (10) years of completion of their PhD or last postgraduate research degree. (The ten-year period starts with formal award of that degree and must end before the application/nomination deadline.)
  • Consideration is given to those who have taken time out early in their career due to family commitments, illness or for other reasons.
  • Nominations are welcomed from researchers from all disciplines/specialties who are contributing to the field of pediatric pain, and from all geographic regions. 
  • Researchers may nominate themselves.

Nominations should include the following:

  • A cover letter from the nominee accepting the nomination and stating her/his five most outstanding scholarly contributions in pediatric pain.
  • A completed Application Form (below).
  • One letter of support from another person (e.g., a senior colleague or a Head of Department) including statements of evidence that the candidate has achieved a level of independence as a scholar.
  • A copy of the candidate's Curriculum Vitae, listing all publications with a brief notation of the nominee's personal contribution under each one

NOTE: Nominations and all supporting documentation must be submitted in English.  Nominations are to be in electronic form only, preferably compiled in a single PDF. They should be sent by email to the President at the address shown on the Council page, .

The e-mail submission should indicate in the subject of the email "Nomination for Early Career Award."

Nominees will receive an email confirming receipt of the application. If the application is not acknowledged within 7 days please check to make sure that it was received.

Nominations must be received no later than 21 November 2016.  Late nominations cannot be considered.

Nominations will be reviewed by members of the SIG Award Committee who will make a recommendation to the SIG Council. The recipient of the SIG Award will be notified in December 2016. The recipient will have one week to accept the award, confirming that she or he will attend ISPP 2017. The Award will be presented to the recipient during a formal session of the ISPP 2017 by the SIG Council.


Please select and copy the tables below into your word processor

Nomination for IASP SIG-Pain in Childhood Early Career Award

To be presented at next
International Symposium on Pediatric Pain

Last Name (Family Name)
First Names (Given Names)
Title (e.g., Dr, Mr, Ms)
Date of Birth
Mailing address for

Email address
( include country and area codes)
Fax (if any)
(include country and area codes)

Current place of employment

Your position
Your highest degree relevant to pediatric pain (e.g., PhD, MD)
Date when that highest degree was received
Institution from which that highest degree was received
Other qualifications / degrees
Professional affiliations and society memberships relevant to pain